12th Landscape Schools Award: International Jury

Xiangrong Wang - JCHLA

Xiangrong Wang is professor of School of Landscape Architecture, Beijing Forestry University, founder and principal of Atelier DYJG, vice president of Chinese Society of Landscape Architecture (CHSLA) (2008-18), chairman of Territorial Landscape Committee, CHSLA, vice chairman of Education Committee, CHSLA, the editor-in-chief of Chinese Landscape magazine, the founding editor-in-chief of Landscape Architecture journal, and Fellow of Landscape Institute of UK.

He obtained BLA from the College of Architecture and Urban Planning of Tongji University Shanghai in 1983, MLA from School of Landscape Architecture of Beijing Forestry University in 1986, and Dr.-Ing. from the Dept. of Urban and Landscape Planning at Kassel University, Germany, in 1995.

He has published a total of 22 monographs, edited books and translations. His practical projects have won 2 Honor Awards in Planning and Analysis category and 1 Honor Award in Landscape Design category from American Society of Landscape Architects, 1 award and 3 shortlisted mentions from Landscape Institute(UK), 10 National Landscape Awards from British Association of Landscape Industries, 22 Planning and Design Awards from International Federation of Landscape Architects APR/AAPME, 4 First Prizes and 7 Second Prizes for Planning and Design category from CHSLA and more than 10 other awards.

Back to International Landscape Architecture School Prize Jury




Eulàlia Gómez Escoda is an Architect (ETSAB) and PhD in Urbanism (UPC-Barcelona Tech). 


She is Associate Professor at the Department of Urban Design and Planning DUOT at the Barcelona School of Architecture ETSAB-UPC Barcelona Tech, where she has taught since 2008. Since 2021, Deputy Director of International Relations at ETSAB. 


Invited professor at international schools such as the School of Architecture of KU Leuven, the Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts KADK, the German University in Cairo, the Universidad Mayor at Santiago de Chile and the Graduate School of Planning and Preservation GSAPP at Columbia University. She was Design Critic at Harvard University Graduate School of Design (fall 2019). 


She contributes as a Postdoc Researcher at LUB, Barcelona Urbanism Laboratory. She is contributor to significant research works related to Barcelona as Barcelona Metropolis (preliminary works and analysis to develop the new Metropolitan Urban Director Plan, DHUB 2014-2015) or Cerdà and the Barcelona of the Future. Reality vs. Project (commemorating the 150th anniversary of the Eixample Cerdà, CCCB 2009). She has published in the Journal of Urban History and the Journal of Urban Design, among others.


She also develops her professional activity through collaborations with firms developing public projects of Architecture, Urbanism, Public Space and Landscape (Ruisanchez Arquitectes, 2003-2009; BAU Architecture and Urbanism, since 2009). 


Back to International Landscape Architecture School Prize Jurors




Laurence Vacherot: Born in 1951, France. Landscape Architect degree by Ecole Nationale Supérieure de Paysage de Versailles in 1979 and before that took Carpentry course in Paris (1970-1971) just after her A level in Philosopy.
She started her practice in 1974-75 by the office SESPA (Allain Provost)  later, she joined the office API, a landscape cooperative where she led projects from 1975-77. Finally, she set up in 1978 with her partner Gilles Vexlard Landscape Architect, the office LATITUDE NORD (1978-2019), a landscape architect office that received more National and International rewards - BDLA 2005 First prize for Landscape Park Munich-Reim; National French Prize Grand Prix du Paysage in 2009 for the project: Base de Loisir Port aux Cérises and a International Urbanism prize in 2010. Since 2000, Laurence Vacherot is a Landscape Architect advisor for the regional Sites Commission of Oise.


Back to International Landscape Architecture School Prize Jurors




Tim Waterman is Professor of Landscape Theory and Acting Director of Architecture History and Theory at the Bartlett School of Architecture, UCL. 


He is Chair of the Landscape Research Group (LRG), a Non-Executive Director of the digital arts collective Furtherfield, and an advisor to the Centre for Landscape Democracy of the Landscape and Spatial Planning Institute at NMBU in Norway.


He is the author of The Landscape of Utopia: Writings on Everyday Life, Taste, Democracy, and Design and editor of Landscape Citizenships with Ed Wall and Jane Wolff, Landscape and Agency: Critical Essays with Ed Wall, and the Routledge Handbook of Landscape and Food with Joshua Zeunert. His writing has appeared in a variety of journals including the Journal of ArchitectureGarden Design Journal, Utopian Studies, and Landscape Architecture Magazine. His brother is the experimental musician, writer, and producer Alex Waterman.


Back to International Landscape Architecture School Prize Jurors


Carme Ribas is an architect, graduated from the Barcelona School of Architecture (ETSAB) in 1980. In 1985 she obtained a Diploma from the Polytechnic University of Catalonia in Landscape Architecture. She has been a professor of Architectural Projects at the ETSAB since 1987. She has also taught classes in the Master's and Landscaping Degree at the UPC.

She began her professional activity as an architect for the Urban Elements and Projects Service of the Barcelona City Council, in the period between 1981 and 1986, where she carried out several projects in public space. Since 1985 she has shared a professional activity with Pere Joan Ravetllat Mira, with whom she has carried out several projects both in the field of housing and in that of equipment or public space.

Back to International Landscape Architecture School Prize Jurors